E3 2011 FFXIII-2 Interview Details

Final_Fantasy_XIII_Large

Lightning Farron takes the back seat to her sister Serah in FFXIII-2.

Director Motomu Toriyama and Producer Yoshinori Kitase of Final Fantasy XIII-2 gave interviews with numerous outlets, here are some details they revealed about the game due out this December.

  • In comparison to the linear storyline of FFXIII, the choices the player makes in XIII-2 will result in different consequences in the story.
  • For the first time in the Final Fantasy series, there will be multiple endings.
  • Noal is introduced as a new character not only as an interesting aspect for seasoned players, but also so those unfamiliar with the series can play it.
  • The Crystarium system will be essentially the same, with some updates including interaction with accessories.
  • The save system has been changed to resemble Western titles.
  • FFXIII-2 will feature more towns and shops players can interact with.
  • The storyline will take at least 40 hours to complete.
  • Look forward to more this September at Tokyo Game Show 2011!

I’m very excited to hear more. I suppose I should just come out with it though, I’ve only ever played demos of the FFXIII games. So this weekend when I returned from E3 I picked up the copy of XIII I’ve owned since it’s release and finally begun to play it. Now that I have familiarity and compare it to what I saw at E3’s demo, I can say I am genuinely looking forward to the improvements.

One that was noticeable to me was the lack of animation during Paradigm Shifts in FFXIII-2, I’m too impatient even though they are short in FFXIII. As I’ve said before, interactive battling is the best!

2 thoughts on “E3 2011 FFXIII-2 Interview Details

  1. Intresting, this might be the first FF game I ever buy. I’ve only played FFX, but never got to finish it. This seems like the perfect chance to get back in the series :)

    Would you recommend any of the past FF games that I should play?

  2. I’m sure everyone would recommend FFVII, but I don’t know if it has the same impact for new players as it did when it first released. I liked VIII, loved IX, disliked X, couldn’t play XII. I think it comes down to what holds your interest. Since you asked me, I’d say the titles for the PS1 were the better ones. But do give XIII a try!

Comments are closed.